Community Rating System

The Community Rating System (CRS) program recognizes and encourages community floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP standards. Depending upon the level of participation, flood insurance premium rates for policyholders can be reduced up to 45%. Participating in the CRS program provides an incentive to maintaining and improving a community’s floodplain management program over the years.

What is the Community Rating System (CRS)?

The National Flood Insurance Program’s (NFIP’s) Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes communities for implementing floodplain management practices that exceed the Federal minimum requirements of the NFIP to provide protection from flooding.

In exchange for a community’s proactive efforts to reduce flood risk, policyholders can receive reduced flood insurance premiums for buildings in the community. These reduced premiums reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from community efforts toward achieving the three CRS goals:

  1. Reduce flood damage to insurable property
  2. Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the NFIP
  3. Encourage a comprehensive approach to floodplain management

Flood insurance premium reductions are determined by a community’s CRS Class. Policyholders in a CRS community can receive premium reductions from 5 percent to as much as a 45 percent for an insured building in a CRS Class 1 community.

The state of Mississippi has approximately 30 CRS communities.  The savings for these communities range from 5% to 25%.  Contact your State NFIP Office if you have any further questions at 601-933-6884.

For more information on CRS, visit the CRS Resources site.